Anniemac

By TexAnne

Teapot

This teapot belonged to my Mum who is sadly no longer with us. There's a great story of how it came to be with us. Mum was visiting relatives in Ireland not long after the war. She had just broken up with her fiancé and it looked to them that she was running out of time to find anyone. An old Aunt brought this blackened object out and emptied the buttons from it saying that she might as well have 'this old thing!' (I think they were pitying her). Anyway, when Mum cleaned it up she found it was really beautiful and she became sentimentally attached to it over the years. Mum later would meet my Dad so perhaps the teapot brought good luck! I always loved hearing this story (I'm sure Mum loved the Aunt as much as the teapot!) I know I have relatives somewhere in Ballymena and am sure I could find some if I looked. But that's a project for another day......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.