Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hockley and my Flirty Friend

I walked this footpath on Tuesday but found my blip before I'd got half down it, so decided to go back today and try to capture the Hockley Viaduct from the marshes. Still didn't get to the end of the track as the wet defeated me (and nearly sucked my camera into the mud) and as soon as I pointed my lens at those great arches who should pop up but my flirty friend from earlier in the week, giving me the hard stare and refusing to move out of range! But he is rather sweet, isn't he?

The viaduct was built in the 1880s for the old railway line from Didcot to Southampton. I'm not sure the line ever got as far as Southampton, in fact, but the viaduct's now used by cyclists and walkers, despite the Army once offering to blow it up for bomb practise and the good of mankind!

Hope your weekend's going well xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.