'Doing my work'

This is Raymond. He was very happy for me to take a photograph, but he wouldn’t stop working, i.e. cleaning the windscreen at top speed - You take me doing my work! he said. Very difficult! But I just had to capture and share that smile.

Today we travelled the Garden Route to Plettenberg Bay. It’s called the Garden Route because it is a scenic drive along the south eastern coast of South Africa and has verdant vegetation on both sides of the road for much of the way. This is apparently beautiful in spring and early summer, but obviously now the flowers have finished and it is just a lush green. It’s still a lovely drive.

Along the way we stopped at a Service Station or Petroport and, as usual, when we drew up, several young lads in their bright red uniforms dashed out and waved us in. They then put the fuel in and washed the car windows, and that means every window washed, rinsed and finished off properly. Windscreen and windows sparkle at the end. So this is Raymond at ‘his work’ on our windscreen and all the while chatting and laughing and dancing. Of course they earn themselves a bit with this performance, but it’s great to see. And a really clean windscreen is a wonderful thing.

We are now at Plettenberg Bay or Plett and are settled in an apartment belonging to a lovely couple. We have stayed here before and they treat us like old friends. A beautiful beach is just a few minutes away and I can see and watch the sea as I sit here on the patio. Paradise! Gordon is also in paradise, as the owners have made sure he has all the TV channels he needs to watch the rugby. I haven't seen him for a while!

Thank you so much everyone for following me on our adventure and your thoughtful comments on South Africa and our experience yesterday. We love this country very much and I hope to show you why in the next week. Wifi access has been erratic so far, but now we are settled and the wifi is excellent, so I will catch up with you all. I have placed us on the location map if you are interested.

Meanwhile . . . here is Raymond. Sunshine on a sunny day. I’m afraid it’s very, very warm here.

Oh and look who we met last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.