Tonto McDuff

By TontoMcDuff

Knights

Despite it being "dress-down Friday", I was done-up in my best suit today.

I was off to a do with my Dad this afternoon. First stop was the Canongate Kirk for a service celebrating the works of the Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem. As well as that two new knights were invested (dubed) and a new Prior for Scotland was invested.

It was very interesting seeing a little bit of pomp and ceremony, with mantles, banners and swords.

Following the service it was off to Holyrood Palace for a reception with drinks and canapés in the Great Gallery.

They did ask that no photographs were taken in the kirk or the palace, so I've got none from there. But I did get one of Dad on our way back up the Royal Mile.

Nice day out Dad, thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.