Decimation and salvation

A sad day today, but I'm optimistic - our front garden vegetation was removed to stop the cracks growing in our flat. The theory is that the roots were taking the moisture from below the house and so the clay under the foundations began to shrink (that combined with a dry summer) and the bay window of our front room began to drop. We had a hedge alongside the fence and wall, but no more. However, I have a plan with a new fence and new plants (roots in pots, not in the ground), which will be executed soon. Small plants are OK so I bought some dianthus from the local flower shop and planted them where the hebe used to be.

I also had the chimney sweep in to sweep the chimney. Luckily, he found no nasties and all was chim-chim-cheree cheery.

Then Sam came over for afternoon tea. She works from home on a Friday, too, and I used to work with her yonks ago. She also lives just round the corner - it's a small world!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.