Peace

A busy day. Up at 0645 for a 10 km run. Then did some work for school.

I received an unexpected phone call at 1200. Valerie, who spent last night with her Grandad, phoned to say that Arthur has a temperature of thirty-nine degrees so I walked to their flat and delivered some medicine and the documents which they will need when they take him to the doctor tomorrow morning. I hope it isn't influenza or the noro virus.

From Grandad's house I walked back to Koshien Station and then took the train to Kobe to see the J.M.W. Turner exhibition at the Kobe City Museum. Turner is one of my favourite artists, along with Alphonse Mucha and Gustav Klimt, so this was a treat. Unfortunately, there was no Fighting Temeraire, but another of my favourite Turner works, and the subject of today's blip, was exhibited; Peace - Burial At Sea. A simply stunning painting. Or, to use the correct terminology, sublime. Dido and Aeneas was another particularly impressive masterpiece.

Best wishes for Arthur.

Oil On Canvas - Japan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.