Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Enter the Red Girl

Off to see the Chinese Warrior Lantern "exhibition" in Edinburgh today. Interesting idea, but I have to admit to being a little underwhelmed by how flimsy they looked. Perhaps they are a more impressive spectacle when lit up at night. I also found myself irked by how they had been positioned without paying attention the sight lines of the Edinburgh Uni Old College quad - I know it is a critical photographer's eye, but the lines of warriors didn't line up with lines of pillars, which niggled at my insistence on balance and symmetry.

Hey ho - in terms of scale - the best shot is probably this one (which illustrates the above point perfectly!). But in the end I liked this detail shot, of one of the warriors emerging from their crate onto the grass, mainly due to the colour match. Clearly it was all about harmony for me today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.