Why Be Serious?

By BlackmailGnome

Had made a promise...

... not to blip any Halloween piccies but this one just really needed to be outed. Amethyst is looking far too old here, and although this time of the year is great for scrying (looking into the future) - this image of my eight year old daughter is perhaps too hard to handle... The future is going to involve a lot of giving potential boyfriends *that* look.

A conversation I had with an OAP brings a smile to my lips...
"Eee, why bother with Halloween after all - it's a terrible American import that has no place in Britian...", just say it with a Geordie accent and lots of tutting between words.
"My dear, the Americans got the whole Halloween thing off Irish and Scottish immigrants a couple of centuries ago. And in fact Halloween or it's true name Samhain (or Summer's End) has been celebrated since Celtic times in one form or another...", well not quite like that as my accent is of north england decent.. just not quite Geordie (lost my accent when I was a wee bairn).
"Sod off!", was the nice old lady's reply (well not Sod but you get the picture).

Old'uns, can't live with them, can't take then to the knacker's yard for glue ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.