Liangge

By Liangge

Intercultural gifts

A belated gift pack to my little niece who actually has grown into a pretty girl very fast.

So the Chinese tradition is to give red envelopes (红包, hóng bāo) to offspring with certain amount of money (known as Lucky Money, 压岁钱, yā suì qián) sealed inside. I didn't have such a red envelope at hand and thought this would be too common. I had a little Chinese traditional purse for girls and input the new British coins of the Royal Shield version. This is a fine combination of the east and the west.

So how much do I give in the envelope and in all together? Hush - this is a secret only she knows! An anecdote was that her mum became very interested in the purse and wanted to keep it - can you believe that a credit card-bound wife wanted to keep this coin purse?

As for the little money box (with chocolate coins in it), it was meant a gift for Christmas to her but we were unable to gather that time. Her last year's box was full so this was the new one I bought for her.

But she refused to give back the old one to me ;-) - a smart girl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.