A Note on Learning

I realise that's it's a truism to state that we only grow through learning , but the older I get the more I realise the true wonder of this.

I don’t so much mean about the learning that we do in the classroom, anyone can remember a list of facts or work out a chemical equation (except me because I am stupid), and even though education can open many doors for us I place little value on that bit of paper that tells the world we went to a lot of lectures.

I still study frequently, but I realise that most of what I get out of it is the people who I meet on the course and the dynamics and conversations that excite me more.

People are a wonderful source of learning and ,taking it away completely from academia ,I never stop being thankful for the stuff other people teach me. It’s the unpredictable things. Naturally I learn from people who will sit down and argue politics with me all night or from those who will steer me the way of an author I have not previously heard of, but it’s also the human interactions that fascinate me and teach me every day.

I remember a massive turning point for me was whenthis happened at work and at the time I was stunned and devastated and felt like my sense of self had been compromised. But I learnt and now me and this person work well together.

Since then I try to value the minutiae of human interaction, when a stranger makes me smile I learn to try and do the same to others , because that tiny detail had an impact on my day. When someone is really rude to someone else, I try and remember not to be a twat myself . When things don’t go our way there is a reason for that and I always reflect as to what happened and how else I could have done things. This is where human friendships help as others usually tell you ( “ You’re being nuts Rach “ is valuable feedback apparently). I am fascinated by how we are all different and disparate and the older I get I appreciate that such contrasts are a huge way to learn.

I am a thinker, I am a ponderer, I make mistakes, I see others makes mistakes, I see others do good and I try to do good. Every day there is a little bit of learning to be had and that is why every day is so very unique. I love people, they teach me well.

xx

A single conversation with a wise man is better than ten years of study. ~Chinese Proverb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.