Annoying Tiara

I lost all my text last night after getting the “oops” screen. I always write up in a separate text editor and copy and paste but I closed the text file (without saving) before getting a successful upload confirmation from blip. Goodness I was annoyed.
We went to the hills above Glen Fyne to get soaked today. I was jumping between this one and an image of sea water coming over the wall at Inveraray water front and flooding the grassed area with park benches.
My lunch today was a particularly unpleasant affair. When I stopped working my hands got so cold I couldn’t open the flask initially and my sandwiches were soaked by my own wet hands and rain water dripping off my sleeves. It was a relief when I was done and could get going again though my tiara kept blowing off in the wind. (I know please read on)
Can I just take a moment to voice my great sympathy to those poor souls at the House of Lords at the immense hardship brought about by changes to their dining arrangements.


The Independent today:

“House of Lords is no longer a place for fine dining, peers gripe

Members of the House of Lords have lodged a series of extravagant complaints about their taxpayer-subsidised restaurants, expressing their anger about the size of menus, ‘chaotic’ table layouts and ‘inferior cappuccinos’.

Peers can enjoy seared scallops, foie gras and champagne risotto at the Barry Room private restaurant, part of a group of facilities catering to them and their guests which are subsidised by the taxpayer at a cost of £1.3m a year. A full roast dinner costs £9.50. Peers also receive a £300-a-day expenses allowance for attending the House of Lords.

But this has not stopped a steady stream of complaints being sent to Lord John Sewel, the Chairman of Committees. One impassioned Lord complained of a 15-minute wait to be seated, which they said lost ‘some of the finesse of the afternoon’ and left their guests unable to ‘eat the beautiful cake selection’ in time. Another member decried the ‘chaotic litter of small tables’ in the Lords’ tea room after its rearrangement over Easter.

Another said he had been left ‘scarred’ after his dinner booking was cancelled suddenly. He complained that his wife was ‘unable to lunch elsewhere’ because she was wearing a tiara.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.