Blackwork

Blackwork is a form of embroidery that dates back to the 16th century. There are 3 types of blackwork but the earliest style and the modern style of blackwork are very similar, taking the form of counted stitches, worked on an even-weave fabric, that make a geometric or small floral pattern. This is an example of counted-stitch work and it appeals to my inner mathematician!

I can't remember when I made this bag but it was before I was married. Unfortunately, it's looking a little bit grubby now (I think that's a coffee stain on it) so I've desaturated it to make the stain less obvious. I may chuck it at the dry cleaners to see what they can do.

And speaking of obvious, this is a desperation blip - obviously! I only tend to blip indoor possession-type 'stuff' when I'm out of time or ideas. Today I was out of both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.