Normanshire

By Normanshire

Bicycles, Axum

Well, it's only taken nearly two weeks, but I've managed to find some bicycles to photograph. I know, hardly breaking new ground in the photography world, but in Axum I've noticed many bike mechanics, bike hire places and just bikes in general. This is almost like the Netherlands in Ethiopia . . . well not quite.

That aside, today has been a long day travelling. We made the mountainous road journey from Gondar to Axum. On this stretch of road they are in the middle of covering it with tarmac which is a massive job. So many road blocks to swerve around on perilous cliff edges and the dust was something I've never experienced before. Our drivers were true legends today and it was today when we said goodbye to them. Waaaaaah!

When we arrived in Axum, I had a little walk and was befriended by a young boy. After two weeks I was getting a little tired of the same question 'Where are you from?' so I decided to turn the question round.

'Where are YOU from?' I asked slightly irritated.
He looked at me as if I had lost my marbles, pointed up to the sky and said, 'From the moon of course!'
Well that made me chuckle. He then explained that he would be happy to give me a ride to the moon for free, as long as I took him to visit England for free. Well I reckon that's a good deal and I wish my little astronaut friend all the best for the future. He made my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.