Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

February Faces: Hetty

As I wandered around Whistler on an unexpected day off I spotted the Ron Smid photography gallery which I'd never seen before. It was being advertised by a large old Accordion style Camera so I dipped in to check out the works. The photographs were stunning, incredibly detailed and so vibrant. I was the only person in the Gallery and soon got chatting to Hetty who told me all about the process and the photographer. It turns out all the photos are Analog and printed on special Cibachrome paper which is what makes them so vibrant! Ron has spent 20 years putting together a book of landscapes all across Canada as the process of photography and printing is time consuming.

Our conversation soon took a turn and we were discussing our experiences traveling different countries, life at university and even politics from both the UK and her native Australia. After such a long chat I felt I couldn't let the opportunity slip and had to grab Hetty for a photo by her favourite image in the Gallery. She chose Sunrise over Little Mountain which she admits that originally she didn't like but it has grown on her as she has seen it more and more!

All in all, a very productive and wonderful chance meeting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.