Imagerie

By vicki43

#3 Crocitation

DDW February Challenge #3 Crocitation

FromThe Phrontistery:
Crocitation (n.) croaking; cawing 1623-1656
The crocitation of the gulls meant that I got no sleep last night.

The crocitation of the gulls outside my office window is a daily occurrence, and a welcome one. This looks to be a juvenile or first winter gull with its overall browns and dark barring on the tail. Their crocitation has been characterized as slightly honking or cawing, with a laughing quality. Here is what they sound like: Gull Sounds
It could be a Western or Yellow-legged Gull, or some sort of hybrid, but they all crocitate similarly. Today, they must have been holed up somewhere in this cold snap we are having. There were only a handful on the roof of my office building and none were interested in coming anywhere near me, so I got this guy leaving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.