MenaiN

By MenaiN

Noggin

I contacted the fan website for Postgate and Firmin (The Dragons' Friendly Society, since you ask) to find out if I could get hold of a piece of music from a Noggin the Nog episode. It's for a service on 1 March being held for families to remember their children who have died. I am honoured to be participating as a reader. This piece of music was chosen by Oliver Postgate when he was on Desert Island Discs. I know exactly when because I heard this when I was not at work, sitting at home, waiting to miscarry a baby whose heartbeat was not there. The music was about Graculus the bird feeling homesick for a place he had never seen. I wept and wept. But it's beautiful music. Melancholy bassoon and Oliver Postgate's words are perfectly fitting. The website contact responded, sending the music and copying Daniel Postgate, Oliver's son. We have permission and the music. In the midst of a lot of other chaos after returning home and illness this has just made my day. Thank you to them and here's hoping that the service will go well, providing a space for people to remember and grieve together in a lonely time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.