All Saints' Day

A big day in Poland. The day for visiting cemeteries. Quite a spectacle and quite surreal in that it didn't feel eerie at all. People had been telling me about it for the last few weeks, so after a really lovely afternoon next door, with 8 other grown-ups and 3 small people for a brunch, where we all contributed (two soups and a crumble from me) towards proceedings, I went with Jean on a mini-pilgrimage armed with cameras, to one of the big cemeteries by tram. I should have worn another layer because it was flippin' freezing - we lasted an hour! The place was heaving and stalls lined the cemetery walls, with candles and flowers on sale, to people of all ages who were there to pay their respects. There's a plan at the entrance to show where the famous people lie, but to be honest, they're easily identifiable by the sheer volume of heat coming from the rows and layers of candles surrounding their graves. It was a very pretty picture but unfortunately I didn't get too many successful pics, despite my new-found (part)knowledge of ISO settings... I think a tripod would have been helpful...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.