Moments

By togrrrl

Shadowplay

Went to an amazing opera today with my Mom called The Nightingale & Other Short Fables. It was not your usual opera. Directed by Robert Le Page, the first act the story was told through hand shadows projected onto the scrim. There were shadows of cats and babies and drinkers. I have never seen anything like it!

In the second act, most of the action took place in a pool in front of the orchestra. Actors and puppets told the story of an emperor in China and a nightingale. The colours and music were gorgeous. Sigh....so beautiful.

Usually I find experimental theatre incredibly boring. But today, my senses were opened up and I was blown away. It's sold out, otherwise I would want to go again and again.

Then after this incredible experience, my mom and I continued bonding through shopping and dinner. Back to reality!

So, why this picture? The theatre has a glass staircase. Cool enough, but when I went out during intermission, the parallels between the story told by hand shadows and the shadowy footsteps of people above me really struck me. Is it art imitating life or life imitating art?

For more about this opera: COC - The Nightingale and Other Short Fables

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.