Shrink Wrapped Kelpies

I was at the Glasgow Print Studio (GPS) today to preview a new exhibition of abstract work called In Abstraction, which opens there this weekend.
I'm writing about this show for The Herald Arts magazine this Saturday. Tonight is the night I write (aye write!) the elusive words and at the moment they are very abstract. In my head.
It's beautiful work though by three women artists; Rosalind Lawless, Hetty Haxworth and Aimee Henderson.
As I was leaving, I looked into the office to say goodbye to GPS boss, John Mackechnie.
On the desk beside him, I spied these two shrink wrapped bronze maquettes (scale models) of a mythical horse called a kelpie made by Glasgow-based sculptor, Andy Scott.
Andy's GIANT kelpies have become a landmark by the side of the M9 outside Falkirk.
You can read more about them here.
These teeny tiny Kelpies were part of Living Proof, an exhibition at the print studio which has just ended.
They have now been swaddled in cellophane in preparation for a transfer to the London Print Studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.