twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

The Sun Is A Plan(e)t

Frustrating day; IT issues meant my day working at home was fractured, disjointed, painful. Loads of complex stuff that required my full attention that needed doing and made more difficult by system nonsense.

That and the constant interruption from pointless phone calls.

And a long day - I have the joys of the boss chumming tomorrow - part of my annual appraisal is having him 'shadow' me, in reality he likes to overshadow you and use any opportunity available to show you how much he knows. Unfortunately, last time he did this, I chose the jobs wisely and he didn't have the first clue of the intricacies of much of what I was doing as was almost huffy when he left me as I'd denied him the opportunity to impress me. Hey ho.

The bright spot of the day was my son. School open afternoon; I was allowed to go in and sit in his classroom and see what he's doing.

They were writing - actually, it was quite disheartening watching his lack of focus and concentration whilst the others at his group of desks wrote more proficiently, and focussed better than he did... Oh well. But he was delighted to see me and showed me his Space project pictures, including the Sun is a Plant one....

Then the afternoon was more of the same from the morning although at 5 everyone suddenly stopped bothering me, the IT settled down and from 5 til 7 I did double what I'd done in the previous 8 hours....

Then supermarket for fruit and managed to score some reduced to clear prosciutto so made some cold pasta, and sliced in the prosciutto and added slivers of pear and fennel with a light oil / vinegar whole grain mustard dressing. An absolute joy.

Then two hours on the phone, chatting like lovestruck teenagers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.