KariDi

By KariDi

Light

Today was never going to be an easy day & there was always going to be tears. We remembered our friend and colleague Dr Gavin Wallace, with readings and laughter (and some tears) listening to Kirsty Logan talk about her work as part of the Dr Gavin Wallace Fellowship. It was a lovely thing to do today.

And then happy news, as the Scottish Parliament once again did itself & us proud and passed the Marriage and Civil Partnership (Scotland) Bill by an overwhelming 105 votes to 18. Found tears running down my face a few times while listening to the debate - we do have some ace politicians whose commitment to passing this Bill has been amazing. Particularly proud of all the individuals and organisations who worked hard, for a long, long time, to champion equality and change Scotland for the better. It's not over, but this is a giant step forward.

Rather apt to make history during LGBT History month and I suspect we might touch on this at Insights & Ideas: LGBT History Month on Thursday. I think I'll need to source cakes of a rainbow variety....

I think St Andrew Square is mainly full of blippers blipping the Bruce Munro installation Field of Light. I think I'll try again for a better pic at some point. It's fab. Though kept coming across one man who was exclaiming 'I just don't get it. I don't get it.' To which his wife eventually replied, clearly exasperated, 'Well, now you've seen it, so that's that.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.