Skyroad

By Skyroad

Evening Sun, Salthill

I'm just back form Galway, where I spent a couple of days with an old friend J, his wife and their 6 month old baby girl. Their house is out beyond Spiddal, nestled under a shallow hill in a bog, with a crop of wind turbines nearby gently whumping the air (a comforting domestic sound, like a washing machine). One of the first things J did while the house was being built (over a decade ago) was to plant trees all round it (hardy Mountain Ash, pines, etc.) to enhance the privacy and shelter. I wrote about J's house in a mini-sequence (called 'Western Stills') in my last collection, The Sky Road.

Indreabhán, 5 a.m.

Steepling behind your
house on the hill,
the vertical, bone-white oar
of a windmill.

But this time the high point of my visit was a walk with J on Salthill prom. After my windy and rainy drive from Dublin, the weather had finally lifted, and we took a leisurly dander into the evening sun's burnished light. I like this part of Galway, which is rather like Bray: slightly seedy, with cafés, amusement arcades and hotels/guest houses which have seen better days, all of them transmuted by the sepia light filtering through a high layer of ash-grey cloud, like a jammed venetian blind.

I took a few shots of the bay, with one of the Aran islands rising like a dark, frozen wave. But what I wanted was silhouettes, walking onto the little pier to animate that stage set. There were plenty of people strolling into the sun, so very soon my wish was granted.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.