Crystal Visions

Hello, sun in my face.
Hello you who made the morning and spread it over the fields . . .
Watch, now, how I start the day in happiness, in kindness.
- Mary Oliver

Another very cold winter morning. A break in the weather between storms.

The first light finds me standing at the edge of a central Pennsylvania cornfield, watching this beautiful, everyday miracle that is morning.

Every cornstalk, every twig, every blade of grass is covered in crystals. Crystals, crystals, everywhere!

Feathered like fans. Delicate to the touch. Sparkling like diamonds.

And I look out across this field dressed in its winter finery, and I am smiling.

As I start my day in happiness; in gratitude; in kindness.

The soundtrack: Cat Stevens, Morning Has Broken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.