HANANNANANHA

By HANANNANANHA

Runebergs day.

In Finland we celebrate Johan Ludvig Runeberg at fifth of february, which is his birthday. Runeberg is finnish national poet and has written poem named "Maamme" (=Our land) which became Finnish National Anthem.

The story tells, that Fredrika Runeberg, Johans wife, made tortes what Johan liked to eat with punsch every breakfast. Nowadays those tortes are called "Runebergin torttu (=Runebergs torte)", and are eaten in 5.2. to celebrate Johan Ludvig Runeberg.

Those tortes are flavored with almonds and rum or arrack. There is usually raspberry jam in a sugar ring on the tart.


In my pic the tortes are in the rear area.

I decided yesterday to invite my other uncle to come visit us at my other uncles house today. I bought Runebergs tortes but wanted to bake something allso, so I made carrot cake.
My uncle, whom we are staying at, has build his own grain mill, and with it he first made the flour. Then he heated the baking oven and made some flatbreads in the morning.

So we had lots of delicacys to serve today! =)
... and I should be loosing weight ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.