Love

February 5, 1965. Small town, British Columbia. A girl from Scotland and a boy from Italy go to a dance, their first date. They’ve been dancing their way through life together ever since.
Forty-nine years. It blows me away when I realize that G and I have been together that long. It’s gone by in the blink of an eye.
We’ve had so much fun, shared so many adventures.
We have a wonderful daughter and two incredible granddaughters who have enriched our lives and brought us much joy.
We share important values and many of the same interests.
We’ve had our ups and downs. Of course we have. Many more ups than downs though. We’ve supported each other through the difficult times, times that have strengthened our relationship.
We respect each other and never take each other for granted.
We grew up together. We’re settling comfortably into middle age and look forward to growing old together. We still love to dance. Each day is a gift.
What were the chances that two kids from two different countries would meet in a third country and fall in love? I often watch G when he doesn’t know I’m watching him. He’s such a great guy: passionate, compassionate, intelligent, wise, generous, considerate, funny, strong, appreciative, hard working – I could rave on. He’s my best friend, the love of my life.
I never remember the exact date of our wedding but I never forget February 5.

February 5, 2014. Here’s to us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.