CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

A dull day in more ways than one

I don't have to tell you that the weather has once again been atrocious.
I went to work, but at about 10:30 a.m. we saw some very large flashes amongst the trees near to our office, and these were swiftly followed by the electricity going off.
Calls to the appropriate service ensued, and for about 3 hours we had no power.
I know we were very lucky as parts of the country have been off for many hours and even days.
It turned out that some branches had fallen onto our particular part of the power cables, but it was soon fixed and impressively quickly.
So I set about tasks that you can always do in an office when there is no power - e.g. filing and tidying. So very dull.
Luckily we have windows at each end of our offices, so we had some daylight to work by, but obviously no technology!
Also everyone (you can just see my colleague, but there are about another dozen staff upstairs) had to put up with me whistling "Wichita Lineman" all day - extremely dull for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.