Mikey88

By Mikey88

They've Arrived!

After two weeks of struggling with a pair of glasses with only one arm and one of the lenses smeared in a corner with super glue, my new glasses arrived today. And what a pleasure it was putting them on and not having to adjust them every four or five minutes to correct their position.

It still took a couple of hours to get out of the habit of straightening them up, but I think I've cracked it now and got used to them. It will also make the top of my nose a lot less painful where the old ones rubbed.

As you may well have seen in the news, the weather has been a bit serious down here. We have been very fortunate and our thoughts are with all those people who have had to move out of their homes. The collapsed railway at Dawlish is going to make things very difficult for a lot of people. I can't see it being fixed very quickly, somehow and it may even be cheaper to put in a new route or reopen and old link.

I was very thankful for the laurels outside our back porch last night - the wind was smashing in to them which took the force out of it before it could hit the porch. Now it is quite calm and even the rain has stopped, but it's due back tomorrow apparently.

John Humphries (newsreader) reported the Shipping Forecast as saying that the sea state was 'going to be extreme, with a short period of phenomenal', which makes me think that I'm glad I'm not at sea.

Hope you have all survived whatever the weather has thrown your way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.