HeyLittleBird

By Rebekah

Mug

I woke up feeling fresh this morning after a decent sleep on George's sofa. Feeling grateful for my super-cosy comfy sleeping bag!

I headed out for a walk through Leam in the brilliant sunshine, via the park, to meet Andy at a newly opened place on the parade called Bills for a breakfast catch-up (how cosmopolitan!). I think my heart broke a little bit walking through the park this morning. You see, I always felt so at home living in Leamington. I made some memories here that I know I'll cherish forever. And I'm aware how cliché this sounds but this morning was a stark reminder how much I do miss it here without necessarily being aware of just how much I am missing it. I know that things can never stay the same - life would never work if they did. I'm also aware that I'm certainly more adverse to change than the average person. But walking through the park I could almost see my previous memories of being there playing out before my eyes: I could see the time that myself, ryan, nicky, steph, john and zahra hired out pedalos on the river one lazy summer-feeling september before term started; I could see the time I spent the after noon with my third year housemates as we picnicked and drank cider in the park; I could see the time that my mum came to visit and we spent the after noon sunbathing with a bottle of beer here; I could see me and Louise sitting on a bench in the sun after we'd finished our exams; I could see many previous games of catch, frisbee, and football; I could see the time where I was sat with Ryan eating icelollies; I could see the time that we broke in to Jephson gardens at night time and tanya caught her pants on the spikey fence (sorry tanya hehehe). I know that it's good I've moved on to bigger and better things, but my god do I miss it here. I think I will always feel a strong affinity to this place, and I really wish by some curious twist of fate I end up back here again some time, for a more prolonged amount of time than just a couple of days.

Anyway. After the most incredible american pancakes for breakfast (complete with blueberries, banana and maple syrup) and a really good catch up with Andy I went and spent an hour or so in the park re-reading the beginning of Anne Frank's diary (a present from Sue which must have been a good 10(?) or so years ago).

I then headed to campus, to meet with Asbjørn (Ozzy) for lunch and later Louise for a drinks. I'm so glad to still know people on campus and to keep in touch with old friends here. I never want those friendships to slip. It will be so strange next year when I'll barely know anyone who is still at Warwick; who will I re-live these glory days with?!

I then met with Yasi, Helen and Lucy for dinner at The Duck (what a food-oriented day!) which was amazing. They kindly invited me back to their house to watch The Wolf of Wall Street (bloody amazing movie), eat haribo/skittles and generally re-live our glorious times as 1st years living together. Its quite amazing to think how Uni forged such strong friendships in such a relatively small space of time.

Apparently I'm in a very rambly mood this evening; pity I wasn't in a more photographic mood today. This note was written by Yasi. I think it's just brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.