tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Everyday footwear

' They are usually worn when walking on wet or muddy ground, or to protect the wearer from heavy showers and puddles.' (Wikipedia)

Thus I currently wear them most of the time: to let the poultry out, to shut the poultry away, to take the dog for a walk wade, to hang wet washing on the line, to take wet washing off the line ground, to fetch logs and coal, to go shopping... and so on.

My relationship with wellies goes back a long way. As a very small child I learnt the alphabet by tracing the letters on my father's gumboots. You had to be fast because the mark left by a licked finger quickly faded - although the memory has not.

(I don't know why the image turned around when I uploaded it. I was wearing these.)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.