An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Golden Ditch...

Possibly, now, the most photogenic ditch in the south of England?

True, there is a road bridge over this channel/ditch that runs alongside the River Avon south of Salisbury, but the floods have swelled it somewhat. As usual, the collective streetlamp glow has cast the orange colour cast. On LARGE see the Cathedral Spire right down the end of the water and a few streaking stars, moving during the SIX and a half minute exposure.

My midnight walk (no comments PLEASE!) found river levels down on what they were and about normal winter levels, now. But one of my reasons for this trek tonight is yet another absolute swathe of heavy rain is coming in over in the morning, bringing yet more misery to many, mostly further west.

Clear skies, cool rather than cold but a nagging chilly wind that spoiled things somewhat - I now wear THREE pairs of socks, which just about kept my feet warm - this was the final picture of the jaunt and actually a scene I had returned to as the first attempts were not quite "right".

Long walk back, tired now, have a good day, all and see you back here on Blip in a few hours time.

My One Year Ago - thumbnail, below, right - is one of my favourite river/cathedral black and whites that I've ever taken, so please take a quick look!

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.