Confluence

Today is Waitangi Day, a national holiday where we celebrate the birth of our young nation. Once you get past the moaners on both sides of the divide I think the majority of us do celebrate and feel blessed to live in New Zealand.

We could do a lot worse.

I celebrated with a spot of fishing at the confluence of the Kaiapoi and Waimakariri Rivers. The shore based fishers on the right are fishing an area at the mouth of the Kaiapoi River known a 'Burkes Hole'. The anchored boats are where we're headed for, 'MacIntoshes Hole'. The mouth of the Waimakariri River is just visible through the willows on the left.

No salmon for use just a bristling little flounder and equally 'punch-above-my-weight' little flounder. But we laughed, put the world to right and enjoyed our picnic on the water.

It's a big place with plenty to look at

I have a hospital appointment early tomorrow morning where I hope I'll hear my fractured foot is healing on track.

Time I hopped off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.