Icicles

We went to Grant Park after I got off of work, & were surprised to see 5 people out walking around! In the wintertime, and with the temperature at 3 below zero, it's pretty unusual not to have the whole place to ourselves! The sun is out, so all the chunks of ice along the edge of the lake look so pretty--all glistening! In spite of the cold temperatures, the big sheets of ice that have been floating in the water are all melted, so most of the water is free flowing! This must have agreed with the birds, as there had to have been 3 to 4 dozen assorted waterfoul in the water off the edge of the observation area. Some of them were really unusual looking, so I thought I'd try for a few photos of them, but no sooner did I get to the edge of the platform than they all turned, as one, & started swimming further out! Guess they ddidn't want to have their pictures taken! So I settled for this chunk of ice that is covered in icicles, as I thought it looked pretty neat! Better viewed LARGE :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.