IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Suicide Squad

I love this little fish. It is called the Hatchet, or "flying fish". If you look carefully, its little fins do resemble wings, and it can use them to propel itself through the air, right out of the water. It does this to catch insects. If you also consider the size of its chest muscles compared to its overall size ... impressive! This fish is only 2cm long.

Sadly I only have one of these little guys left in my Amazon tank. The others committed mass suicide over a year ago. I thought they had all jumped out of the (covered) tank, but I later found out that they had burned themselves to death on the light units. Not nice, I know, but I have never experienced that in all my years of fish keeping.

This little guy seems to have more sense than his (ex) companions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.