Nice one, Google

This is today's Google doodle, perfectly timed for the start of the Winter Olympics in Sochi.

A piece of the Olympic Charter is quoted beneath illustrations of several Winter Olympic sports:

"The practice of sport is a human right. Every individual must have the possibility of practicing sport, without discrimination of any kind and in the Olympic spirit, which requires mutual understanding with a spirit of friendship, solidarity and fair play."

I am in two minds about this - as a sports fan I look forward to these bi-annual festivals of achievement an awful lot. As a lesbian I am very scared by the political climate in Russia and the apparent ignoring of anything uncomfortable by many politicians and businesses that seek to profit from the Games.

Being terribly British, Russia just doesn't seem to be living up to the Olympic Charter.

Should I watch? Would it make any difference if I did or not? (Obviously no, not to anyone else, so would I be cutting off my nose etc?) What about all the athletes who have trained so hard for years? If any one of them has the courage to make a small statement I think it'll be worth the inevitable hassle. And if they do, they have the might of Google and a lot of the rest of the world with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.