stujphoto

By stujphoto

Stenton Churchyard

I went out with my two friends today seeking photographic and artistic subjects. I took them to a couple of venues where I have done previous blips, the old ruined farmyard at the Brunt and one of the isolated trees set against the Lammermuir foothills. It was a wonderful sunny day but the sun was so bright that there were difficulties photographically in coping with the amount of contrast and deep shadows . We also visited Stenton Church and graveyard.. I had difficulty in choosing a blip as I did not want to repeat my previous images and eventually chose to go with the a view from inside Stenton graveyard, which shows the old doocot (dovecot) set against the background of the graveyard and church. The sandstone walls fairly zing with colour and the sky is a lovely saturated blue despite the lack of polariser or added saturation in Photoshop, but I suspect what drew me to this image is the added element of the shadow of the house set against the doocot wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.