Holl at the GSA

It has been a busy day, but tonight I attended the preview of the Drawing on Holl Exhibition. Before I went into the exhibition I could not resist taking a shot of the entrance to the Mackintosh Building at the Glasgow School of Art.

The exhibition has been curated by Mark Baines of the Mackintosh School of Architecture in collaboration with Steven Holl Architects. The exhibition illustrates the design process through which the new Reid Building came into being. It explores the architectural dialogue between it and the Mackintosh Building. At the heart of the exhibition is a series of watercolour paintings created by Steven Holl Architects as the design of the Reid Building evolved. Watercolour sketches are used to investigate and visualise the architectural form, appearance and the spatial qualities of the interiors, particularly the sources and the interplay of light which are a central feature of the Reid Building, as they are for Mackintosh's Masterpiece, which sits opposite.

You can see Drawing on Holl from 8 February – 23 March 2014

It is my wife's birthday today, so after the preview I picked up both my daughters and sorted out some food and drink and made my way home for a celebration dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.