WeeChris

By WeeChris

Lee - selling The Big Issue

This is Lee who has a pitch selling The Big Issue near my home in Canterbury. My brother Simon used to work for Shelter, so I feel obliged to buy The Big Issue. Lee is quite a character - he is not passive - he cries out his wares like a proper street salesman should.

Even if you are not especially motivated to help the homeless I really do recommend The Big Issue to you if you like Sudoku - there is always a fiendish Sudoku puzzle in The Big Issue - much tougher than you get in the Independent, The Guardian or The Times.

Lee was a bit coy about having his picture taken at first. But when I said I wouldn't take it unless he wanted me to he became really keen on the idea. The lighting was harsh and I would love to have had a bit more time to take this shot, but I think his almost hidden grin is priceless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.