Mikey88

By Mikey88

The Spawn Has Landed

Our first frogspawn of the year arrived last night. It's about a week later than it was last year. I'd like to believe that the frogs know what they are talking about and have laid their eggs because the weather is going to get better, but last year it ended up frozen solid in some very hard frosts, so I haven't got much faith in their weather forecasting abilities. We have two lumps of spawn and with lots of frogs gathering in the pond we are expecting much more.

I decided to try a walk this morning. I haven't been to the local nature reserve for a couple of weeks now, so I parked where the path comes away from the river and started the walk by going down the lane. There wasn't much about in the lane and when I reached the stile where you can see right down the estuary, the wind was blowing straight up it and howling through the trees.

It blustered and buffeted me as I walked along the exposed section, but as I turned the corner of the bend and got into the shelter of the valley, it all became quite calm. There were a couple of ducks and dabchicks in the river and a few crows being tossed about up at tree top level. Everything else must have been tucked up in some sort of shelter. The only other thing to take pictures of was the snowdrops, which are really out in force.

In the afternoon, we took our daughter to chose quilt covers, sheets, lighting and pictures/picture frames for her newly-tidy bedroom. It was quite an ordeal being in Sainsbury's homebase, Next and later B+Q, but I bore it bravely and eventually we managed to escape and get back home in time to catch the England/Scotland game, which is playing at the moment.

This evening we are off to a party, so it's an early blip for a change.

Enjoy your Saturday, whatever you are doing.

Tonight, we

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.