Lightfantastic

By Lightfantastic

Stormy Seas

Thought it about time I went to look at the sea. With a midday high tide, huge waves, tidal surge and bright spells with only a few scattered showers forcast off I went, Gofer having decided to stay at home. I decided to go to the downs overlooking Summerleaze Beach and the Breakwater. The wind was very strong ; could I hold the camera steady even with the trypod. Eventually found some shelter on the terrace of the almost deserted beach café. The waves were big but not completely blown out so still had shape to them. It was high tide but fortunately for town the tides were neep or small and although the river backed up there was no sign of flooding. The bright spell just lasted long enough before a squall set in again. The squall passed but with more on the way the light had gone. so with rain coming in and nearly lunch time I decided to call it a day. I’ve put a good selection here.
Which photo to blip? Packing up to go I looked across to the cliffs and breakwater and saw this small figure dwarfed by the crashing waves. Another photographer packing up. On a safety note I don’t think he was in as much danger as it looks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.