Jones Journal

By MeeshJ

Birmingham Buttons

I took H to Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery today, it's been a while since we last went, and we discovered Birmingham : its people, its history. It's a great gallery, following the city's history from medieval times to the present day, had to smile when I saw it even included a fan's Duran Duran memorabilia, and the Birmingham Grand Prix, which I remember going to watch, showing my age now. It also had H's favourite, interactive exhibits, where we discovered she would have made an excellent Air Raid Warden, she was quite pleased with that!

I learnt today that Birmingham had a history of manufacturing buttons in the late 1700's, early 1800's, mainly from pearl and metal, and that covering them in fabric was against the law and could've led to your arrest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.