EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Riddle

This little brass fellow is about 7 centimeters high, is hollow and has cotton wool inside. A little, nicely made screw in its back can be opened so you can put lamp oil inside. If you have a wick that goes in the little opening on top of its head, you can lit that like a candle.
It looks like a mixture of a little chinese figure (because of the eyes) and a monkey?

Now I wanted to tell you the story of how I thought it was made. I had a great uncle, born in 1890 who must have served in WW1 and WW2 , but he never learned a particular profession. He was the creative black sheep of his illustrious family who tried to earn a living with inventions and later creating all kinds of funny things made out of brass. Several are in my possession.
But when I gave this guy a closer look , I discovered on his little brass butt clearly
printed
U.S.P.
Oct. 6, 1908
D.R.G.M.

My uncle Oscar Vermehren lived in Germany all his life.
This imprint makes it impossible that it is his work.
It rather points to the US or Great Britain, because of the way, how the date is written.
Does anybody have an idea, what U.S.P. could mean? Or D R G M ? Has anybody ever seen anything similar?

I am intrigued but know too little about his life. Could have been a gift from a friend. Where ever it came from, it is pretty cute...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.