Dexter, Stylin'

I had lunch with some very dear friends on Friday, some ladies I have known for more than 25 years. There are about a half-dozen of us, and they are all retired but me. We try to have lunch together about once every month or so. They tell me how great it is to be retired and how much I will love it. I don't doubt that, but as the poet says, I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep . . . career-wise, at least.

My one friend, Celia, is the fur-peep-mom of Skeeter, brother to our Dexter. There are three tabby boys; the third brother lives with my sister's friends in Harrisburg, where the three tabby boys were born.

My friend Celia and her husband are in the process of moving, and the sorting and paring down has been ongoing for months. She and I have similar taste in earrings, and she had mentioned that she had a whole box of jewelry, mostly earrings, to give me, if I wanted them. Of course I said yes. I am an earring fiend, always looking to add to my collection! So on Friday after lunch, she passed a large box of jewelry on to me.

And so Saturday found me sorting through the wonderful box of stuff. I found many pairs of earrings to delight me. It was like several years of birthdays and Christmases all at once! (Celia, if you're reading this, thank you so much! What an awesome collection!)

And Dexter, of course, had to get involved, as he is the official Helpy Helperton, in charge of supervising any large or small household task. He was also quite pleased with the several fine boxes that my friend had so kindly included.

In this particular scene, Dexter is trying his hand . . . er, make that paw . . . at wearing some fancy beads. It's a fashion risk, to be sure, but I think he rocks it! Stylish Tabby is . . . stylish.

The song: Right Said Fred, I'm Too Sexy. (I'm too sexy for my hat . . . too sexy for my CAT . . . too sexy . . . )

P.S. Astute observers may note the participants of the sledding party Blip sitting on their sled in the background of the shot, just beneath the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.