rachelsmom

By dorrit

The Tub

Well, a long time ago , I had mentioned to my husband that I thought huge bedrooms with gigantic bathrooms and closets were were really neat. So when we were building the apartment over our business building (a Home Center) he had a tub put catty-corner at one end of the "master" bedroom, plumbing for a toilet, next to the tub and a vanity sink in the other corner. Now, you have to understand that this is, by no means, a master suite! It is 14' x 14'. The tub is almost as big as the bed! So when we decided to move into this apartment I felt I had to do something to make the room look a little bigger - hence the painting on the wall behind it, framed by beautiful Indian cloth that my oldest daughter brought back to me from India. In fact I have lots of beautiful Indian cloth hanging all over the bedroom. Covering the toilet area, framing the windows covering the closet (because, of course, being cabinet makers, we have no doors on them) Anyway - it all kind of works. Its called "making do, with what you've got" The floor is 2' x 2' squares of faux marble that I painted on plywood underlayment until we could put a "real" floor in but I like it so it will be the last thing we ever do. When we had the building appraised, the appraiser asked if the floor was real marble or ceramic tile. When my husband said "paint" the guy had to get down on his hands and knees to believe him! Not too shabby.

I really just had nothing to blip tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.