A chef's day...

By chef

Bagels

I have never made bagels before. This coming Wednesday we are doing a brunch and I put bagels on the menu. I thought I'd make them myself (let the students make them I meant!) rather than buy them. So tonight I had a trial run. I didn't know the history of the bagel and only knew it as a 'Jewish' bread. Turns out that it was a 17th century bread and was invented as a tribute to the wartime victories of King Jan of Poland. But then they were introduced to the USA by Polish and German Jewish immigrants, so that's why they are considered a Jewish bread.

They aren't very holy so I am going to try another shaping method next time but it's not too bad for a first attempt! The best thing was the 1 hour rising time so I had time to go to the pub inbetween too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.