Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Holiday Cottages

Dolly and I have been away for 6 days and have had NO internet and almost no mobile phone signal so I'm catching up on my Blips!

On Monday the 3rd we left on our short holiday break - just Dolly and me. I only booked this on Friday and we stayed in a cottage owned by the National Trust in Snowshill, a beautiful quiet village in the Cotswolds. Staying here feels like a step back in time.

This is the row of their 6 cottages, 2 of which house NT staff members and the rest are available to rent. Across the road is Snowshill Manor, one of their most famous properties, open to the public. I have visited the Manor before, but it was not yet open for the season.

I have never stayed in a NT cottage before and I have always wanted to stay in one of these because I love Snowshill and have visited here many times. In the late 90s I house-sat for a friend for several months in a nearby village. These cottages are particularly popular and whenever I have checked, they've always been booked up. So I was delighted to find 5 nights free on such short notice!

Most of these cottages have just one or two small bedrooms, but the one on the end on the right has 5 bedrooms and sleeps 9. We stayed in Spring Cottage, the smallest one, right in the middle of the row. It was very cosy and warm inside with a log fire.
http://www.nationaltrustcottages.co.uk/cottage/spring-cottage-006009/

For those who remember the film 'Bridget Jones Diary', some of the film took place in Snowshill:
http://www.reelstreets.com/index.php?option=com_films&task=view&id=1772&film_ref=bridget_joness_diary

For those friends who live outside of the UK, this is the National Trust:
http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/what-we-do/who-we-are/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.