MarkMiller

By MarkMiller

Day 41: O Gasman, Where Art Though?

"The fact is, they're digging up this mountain so they can gas up the whole durn state. Yes, sir, the North is gonna change. Everything's gonna be put on gas and run on a paying basis. Out with the old spiritual mumbo jumbo, the superstitions, and the backward ways. We're gonna see a brave new world where they run everybody a pipe and hook us all up to a grid. Yes, sir, a veritable age of reason. Like the one they had in France. Not a moment too soon."

My little part of the world, and a good portion of my town, is finally getting natural gas service. As I watch the construction crews run the gas lines down my street I am reminded of the above quote. (which I altered a bit to fit the the circumstances) Its by the character Ulysses Everett McGill (played by George Clooney) in a favorite movie of mine "O Brother, Where Art Thou?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.