annleblond

By annleblond

Zinfandel

I've said previously that I love Martha's Vineyard, well it's because I've been going on vacation there for about the past 10 years. My brother moved over there for a uni job and stayed and when I visited I immediately fell in love. I loved America but MV was different, it had a really relaxed feeling about it. The joke when you go to the mainland is that you are going to America, I guess because even the people that live there know that they live in a bit of a bubble.

Anyway, we have a house over there now so it makes it really easy to pop over and a lot less expensive when you don't have to pay for hotels. I like going a couple of times a year because every season has something to offer- the summer is hot and full of tourists, the beach is great fun and there is a real sense of vacation, the winter has snow and all of the beaches are quiet, there are no tourists and lots of places are shut so you get to hang out with the locals drinking and watching sport. The autumn has thanksgiving and the sales and the island starts to wind down. The spring is all about getting ready for the summer and the influx of tourists, the locals and staff are coming back from their vacations and there are the odd hot days where it's still quiet at the beach but the best part is that in May it's my brothers birthday. He has a party where a lot of the staff tht have just returned try and get the night off and come to the house for a BBQ and beer pong, it's always so much fun. The days are getting long enough and the sunsets at the beach are a sight to behold. All of my friends and my brothers friends are back at their jobs in the bars and restaurants and it's still quiet so they can talk to you and best of all there is lots of free food and booze because they are testing out cocktails or what they are going to put on this years menu. I had been wine tasting in South Africa and had my favourite wines, in fact I was a bit of a snob and woul normally turn my nose up at American wine but then I went to quite a few wine tasting evenings where I have tried some of the most expensive and gorgeous wine from Napa - I'm now sold and one of my favourites is a Zinfandel, you have to be careful though because a few of the bush fires have spoiled the vines and there can be a burnt after taste, definitely got to check the years!

Anyway I came across this wine in wholefoods and it was a pretty reasonable price and decided that Monday night required a glass or three.......it's actually not too bad and it was cheap! Might have to try a few other wines from wholefoods.....


I'll just keep drinking till I'm drunk enough that I feel that I'm in my favourite pub eating oysters and drinking wine and espresso martinis......

Xoxo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.