Imagerie

By vicki43

#10 Jiggumbobs and Jimcracks

DDW February Challenge #10 Jiggumbobs and Jimcracks

Jiggumbobs (n.) Trinkets; knickknacks.
Kills monster after monster, takes the puppets
Prisoners, knocks down the Cyclops, tumbles all
Our jiggumbobs and trinkets to the wall.

Brome's Antipodes, 1640
Jimcracks, n., trinkets

These jiggumbobs are usually found on a small display table in our living room. The dogs are souvenirs from the Ginko petrified forests and were a birthday gift one year from my son, who picked them out of all the jiggumbobs in the thrift store just for me. The jimcrack in between the two is a crystal rock I got years ago, forgot what it is now.

I spied the magnifiying glass that goes along with the complete OED and used it just for the heck of it when I took this one. Here is the result; the light streaks from the top of the photo are reflected through the magnifying lens hovering just out of sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.