0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"We're not old, we're recycled teenagers!"

I took a chance today in approaching Maureen and Paul. It was their sweet hand-holding which caught my eye initially, and I told them so when I stopped them:

"You don't see people of your age holding hands"
"What age is that then?"
"Uh...you know......elderly"
"Saying we're old? We're not old, we're recycled teenagers!"

As you can see, Maureen had a bit of a wicked humour about her, she was great fun to talk to.

She told me the story of when she and her friend went on holiday, in Spain I think. They were on a boat and the group leader was asking people to recreate the 'I'm flying' scene from Titanic. Nobody was volunteering, but both Maureen and her friend put themselves forward. Later that day the group were at a dance class when the tour leader walked in with them and introduced them as 'recycled teenagers' - that is where that phrase came from.

Paul and Maureen are actually from Doncaster, but were in Leeds on a day trip. They told me they loved looking up and noticing things which other people mostly ignored, and they pointed me towards an interesting piece of architecture on Vicar Lane. Yes, I had never noticed it before.

Maureen is a big salsa dancer, and Paul collects and plays guitar.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.