IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

An exhibit

I caught a train to London to meet up with my brother Steve and go to the Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA). There was a private view for an exhibition of a couple of works by the artist Richard Hamilton. Unsurprisingly Steve failed to respond to my texts, enquiring what train he was travelling on but luckily I guessed right. I was standing at the end of platform 10 scanning the crowd for his familiar face and caught sight of him finally...tallish, tanned and balding, arriving at the ticket barrier. It was fun to surprise him when he looked up and saw me waiting.

About 90% of the folk at the Private View were wearing black - seems to be de rigueur now among the art crowd - so you could definitely spot us country fellas in more colourful checked shirts among the crowd.
It was a pleasure to see the two main installations - "An Exhibit" and 'Man, Machine and Motion". Both are hung and presented in a sort of post Bauhaus style, in different planes, so that the viewer has a very different view of the three dimensional work from different positions. An Exhibit is a series of perspex sheets of different sizes and colours suspended from wires. It is maybe more interesting than it sounds.
Later on we met a friendly and knowledgeable elderly art curator and historian who seemed to know more about our family and genealogy than we did. This was fun and a bit disconcerting but he did encourage us to visit some distant cousins neither of us have ever met who live down on the Sussex coast.

After lunch Steve and I went for a wander through the streets of Central London, taking in a couple of galleries. Curiously enough we came across some animal sculptures of an old friend of ours in a gallery window in Cork Street.
I love taking photographs in London, I think I could be at it for days and weeks on end. Every time you turn a corner you come across something interesting.

From the Marylebone Road we ended up walking back to Trafalgar Square and the Tate Modern. I reckon by the time I got on the train home I must have walked seven or eight miles on city pavements, no wonder my feet were a bit tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.